Man Booker International (optional)

Students are allowed to read one work translated into English. The list is severely limited. Only novels from the Man Booker International Prize Longlist from 2018 onward are allowed.

Man Booker International (

Man Booker

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel, written in the English language, and published in the UK. The winner of the Man Booker Prize is generally assured of international renown and success; therefore, the prize is of great significance for the book trade.

Man Booker International

From 2005 to 2015 the Man Booker International Prize highlighted one writer’s overall contribution to fiction on the world stage. The prize was awarded every two years to a living author who published fiction either originally in English or whose work was generally available in translation in the English language.

On 7 July 2015, the Booker Prize Foundation announced that the Man Booker International Prize was to evolve from 2016 to a prize for fiction in translation and join forces with the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize.

The newly evolved prize is awarded annually for a single work of fiction, translated into English and published in the UK, rather than every two years for a writer’s entire body of work. Both novels and collections of short stories are eligible.

The Man Booker International prize is awarded every May.

(adapted from

Man Booker International 2016 (website)

Han Kang (South Korea), Deborah Smith (translator) – The Vegetarian


Man Booker International 2018 (website)

Olga Tokarczuk (Poland), Jennifer Croft (translator) – Flights

Virginie Despentes (France), Frank Wynne (translator) – Vernon Subutex 1

Han Kang (South Korea), Deborah Smith (translator) – The White Book

László Krasznahorkai (Hungary), John Batki, Ottilie Mulzet & George Szirtes (translators) – The World Goes On

Antonio Muñoz Molina (Spain), Camilo A. Ramirez (translator) – Like a Fading Shadow

Ahmed Saadawi (Iraq), Jonathan Wright (translator) – Frankenstein in Baghdad


Laurent Binet (France), Sam Taylor (translator) – The 7th Function of Language

Javier Cercas (Spain), Frank Wynne (translator) – The Impostor

Jenny Erpenbeck (Germany), Susan Bernofsky (translator) – Go, Went, Gone

Ariana Harwicz (Argentina), Sarah Moses & Carolina Orloff (translators) – Die, My Love

Christoph Ransmayr (Austria), Simon Pare (translator) – The Flying Mountain

Wu Ming-Yi (Taiwan), Darryl Sterk (translator) – The Stolen Bicycle

Gabriela Ybarra (Spain), Natasha Wimmer (translator) – The Dinner Guest


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.