Modern Classic

What is a ‘modern classic’? Although there is no strict definition, the following list contains novels which are considered outstanding pieces of literature. This list is restrictive. For your modern pick choose one of the novels below.

Anthony Burgess
A Clockwork Orange, 1962

John Fowles
The Collector, 1963

William Golding
Lord of the Flies, 1954

Ernest Hemingway
A Farewell to Arms, 1929

Susan Hill
I’m the King of the Castle, 1970

Aldous Huxley
Brave New World, 1932

Ken Kesey
One flew over a Cuckoo’s Nest, 1962

Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird, 1960

Vladimir Nabokov
Lolita, 1955

Michael Ondaatje
The English Patient, 1992

George Orwell
1984, 1949

Sylvia Plath
The Bell Jar, 1963

Chaim Potok
The Chosen, 1967

Jean Rhys
Wide Sargasso Sea, 1966 [ ½ ]

Salman Rushdie
Midnight’s Children, 1995

J.D. Salinger
The Catcher in the Rye, 1951

F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Great Gatsby, 1925

John Steinbeck
The Grapes of Wrath, 1939

Alice Walker
The Color Purple, 1982

Edith Wharton
The Age of Innocence, 1920


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.