Students are allowed to read one work translated into English. The list is severely limited. Only novels from the Man Booker International Prize Longlist from 2018 onward are allowed.

Man Booker International (


Man Booker

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel, written in the English language, and published in the UK. The winner of the Man Booker Prize is generally assured of international renown and success; therefore, the prize is of great significance for the book trade.

From 2005 to 2015 the Man Booker International Prize highlighted one writer’s overall contribution to fiction on the world stage. The prize was awarded every two years to a living author who published fiction either originally in English or whose work was generally available in translation in the English language.

On 7 July 2015, the Booker Prize Foundation announced that the Man Booker International Prize was to evolve from 2016 to a prize for fiction in translation and join forces with the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize.

The newly evolved prize is awarded annually for a single work of fiction, translated into English and published in the UK, rather than every two years for a writer’s entire body of work. Both novels and collections of short stories are eligible.

The Man Booker International prize is awarded every May.

(adapted from

Man Booker International 2018 (website)